How many times do you clean your carbs?

Started by Glyn, April 15, 2008, 07:45:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Glyn

I've been logging onto this site for a couple of years now and have got some great advice from many of you out there. Amongst many of the quirks of the Vision are it's carbs and their ability to gum up, esp when the bike has not been used often. I'd be interested to know how many times owners clean/dip their carbs each year and how this equates to regular useage of the bike.

I'm starting this post since many members seem to spend an awful lot of time/effort /money doing this when they could be riding their bikes. I tried with the std 82 carb many times before I gave up on it and tossed it away. Car carbs seem bullet proof in comparison and can sit for years and still give no hastles on restarts.

I know the Mikuni can be made to run OK, but for the sake of slight modification from standard I think many owners would be better off with another carb. Many Harleys /Triumphs etc carry after market carbs. The only complication on the conversion I have done was the manifold construction. This should be a simple foundry job but I made mine up buy hand.  Now I'll shut up and won't mention it again!

Tiger

Quote from: Glyn on April 15, 2008, 07:45:19 AM
I'd be interested to know how many times owners clean/dip their carbs each year and how this equates to regular useage of the bike.

:) During the season I run a can of "Berrymans Carb Cleaner" through the gas every so often.

During the off season I drain the gas tank, (put the gas in the car), put in fuel stabiliser and refill with fresh gas.

NOTE: I do run with an in-line gas filter and the gas tank is not lined...

Never had any problem's over the three/four year's since I got "The Mistress" on the road after the previous owner had her layed up for six/seven year's.

8).......TIGER....... 8)