News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Blipping Stumbles

Started by Matnique, April 25, 2008, 01:39:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matnique

Lately, when easing off the throttle from 4-6K to idle and blipping the throttle, I get a no-response hesitation as if the engine just wants to stall out; sometimes it backfires softly. I'd have to ease on the throttle to get the revs back up and not blip it. It only happens when coming down from higher RPM's and then blipping the throttle to downshift. I haven't removed my carbs for dipping yet and have been postponing this since I am quite new to doing this; although I did get some practise removing the carbs out from one of my parts bikes(2).  Other than this blipping issue, it's been trouble-free and I've been really enjoying the ride, especially with new tires.  Is this the Vision stumble that I've heard about?

Lucky

1) do you have a fuel filter installed?
2) try running a can of Berrymans or Seafoam fuel injector cleaner thru a tankfull of fuel.  NOTE: do not use these products if you have a tank coating like Kreem (PVC vynal).   POR-15, Caswell or unlined tanks are fine.
might simply be time to resynq & set adjust pilots.

--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

QBS

What Lucky said.  Plus, there is the option of doing a pure Berryman or Seafoam carb soak.  This consists of draining the carbs, refilling them from a pony(aka auxilary) tank with Berrymans' or Seafoam and then starting the bike and letting it idle for about 5 minutes.  Next, turn off the bike and let the cleaner filled carbs soak for two days.  Then, reconnect the regular fuel line and start the bike as usual.  Let it idle for minute and then go for a test ride to check for improvement.  I've done this to my '83 several times over the last 24 years with no ill effects.

If a carb dip can be avoided by doing this procedure, it's a major win.

Matnique