You Know Your MAC's have no Baffel Material When.....

Started by YellowJacket!, July 27, 2008, 07:41:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

...you FINALLY get the bugger out with copious amounts of PB Blaster, gravity and brute force. Just for kicks, I started YJ with the MAC's off.  Just header pipes, and it sounded the same.  It all started today when Lucky and I were getting YJ back in shape and I noticed we noticed an exhaust leak.  Decided to take the pipes off and paint them after the big fall so I gave it one more go to get the baffels out and this is what I found:

Yup, I'm pretty sure that clump of burnt up fiberglass is really doing its job well.  ;D  ;D  ;D

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

motorcyclezen

YJ,

I kind of like the straight pipe sound. My neighbors would slay me, though. I saw a CB750 with short pipes and that insulated glass wrap that's become trendy for bobs. Great look and a sweet sound. Once, in the course of detailing my Vulcan and changing a front tire, I "bobbed" it for a couple of days (minus front fender and baffled megaphones). It was huge fun.

Do you still need a turn signal? There's an '82 a couple blocks away that is mine for the parts-picking. Let me know and I'll do the appropriate turnsignalectomy. It was a right, right?

Ed--

YellowJacket!

Thanks Ed, Lucky came by today with a new turn signal for me.

The funny thing is, with the MAC pipes off, you can pretty much adapt any kind of slip on system to the headers.  Gears are turning but wallet is empty.

On another note, the second baffel is not budging.  It is rust welded in place.  Generous amounts ao P Blaster have not budged it and I can't hammer it down or pull it out without inflcting any damage to it.  I contacted MAC performance about selling me a rear pipe only.  I hope maybe they will.

David

motorcyclezen

Did I mention the '82 has Macs?

Don't know what kind of condition they're in on the inside, though.

Ed--