Carb cleaning time estimate for first timer?

Started by VK, August 29, 2008, 01:03:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

VK

Though I am the original owner of my vision, I have never removed my carbs for a cleaning.  Had them cleaned once about 6 years ago after the bike had been garaged for a few years, but had a local shop do it at that time.  Have been driving it at least once every couple of weeks since then and have had no problems until now.  The bike surges like something is obstructing fuel flow.  I emptied the tank to make sure water wasn't the issue and cleaned the petcock filter, none of which helped.  I do have an inline filter installed by the way.  Looking like I may need to have the carbs cleaned and am just wanting to assess whether I will realistically have time to do the job myself.  Relative to most on this board, I am a novice mechanic, but have done the virtually all other repairs and maintenance to the bike over the years, so I believe that I and my Haynes manual could muddle our way through the job if it isn't so time consuming that it cuts to deeply into other time obligations.

Also, are there any parts I should be ordering before tearing into this job?

Thanks for your feedback!  VK

dlock

good luck -
I know carbs, worked on them professionally for years.  It took three grueling and painful attempts on my '83 to get them right.  But, now I don't need the YICS, there is no stumble, 55-60 mpg pretty consistently, pulls strong from 30 mph in 5th to way past redline and a little on the rich side.  perfect for me.

There are guys here on the forum that can do them for you and save you a BUNCH of headaches, cursing and kicking the dog in frustration.