News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

Will Not Go in Gear

Started by newskewlarmy, September 20, 2008, 02:26:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

newskewlarmy

Bikes Running now but when i want to put it in gear it dies. I know of the Side Stand Switch and it apears to working correctly could it be an electrical malfunction of that switch.
I've read some post about this and people say to just cut the wire. I'd rather not do that if i did'nt have to. Has anyone actualy fixed this switch? Is it even the switch thats the problem?

YellowJacket!

You may need to adjust your clutch cable. 

Someone at work played a nasty trick on me the other day and rolled out the thumbwheel on my clutch cable so when I put the bike in gear it would die.  Took me a minute to figure it out but I noticed that my little rubber boot was slid down the cable.  Readjusted the cable and put it in gear and it worked.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

newskewlarmy

could you touch face on how to properly adjust the cable?  Edit - PLEASE  ;D

YellowJacket!

Right where the clutch cable goes into the clutch lever there is a "thumb wheel" adjustment.  It may be hidden under a rubber boot.
You turn the wheel to tighten or loosen the clutch cable.  In your case, you want to tighten the cable.

Hope that helps.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

h2olawyer

YJ's solution is the quickest & easiest to try.  If your side stand safety switch is FUBAR, then you can disconnect it for now, and find a replacement - either here or from eBay or Yamaha.  I don't have any manuals close at hand, but I bet there's a way to test the switch.  Perhaps someone will chime in with that procedure.

H2O