Newbie in Tokyo

Started by HarryTakeuchi, March 31, 2013, 09:00:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HarryTakeuchi

Hi. I bought an XZ550D from an XZ freak in Osaka last month and personally hauled it on my van for the 400 mile trip to Tokyo. I finally got it registered for a number plate last week and today was the first time I commuted to work on her.

Althought the bike was in fairly good shape, it was inactive for about an year and before I could get her up to commuting standards, I had to solve a thermostat problem that caused the coolant to over heat, resulting in constant fan activity which also apparently lead to a weak battery.

I also experienced the speedometer whining this morning, for which I just found the cure in this forum.

I had a XS750 before this ride and a VX800 before that so I have had a succession on shaft drive bikes for the last 10 years or so. I also ride a lot of dirt bikes. Since I am a Vision newbie at this point, I will be mostly be learning from you guys but hope I can contribute in some way as time goes.
Harry Takeuchi

Night Vision

welcome!

love the colors of the XZ550D

can you post some pics?
if it ain't worth doing it the hard way....
it ain't worth doing it at all - Man Law
;D

if it ain't broke..... take it apart and find out why

don't give up.... don't ever give up - Jimmy Valvano

Rikugun

Welcome Harry.  :) I think we have an active member currently riding a VX and seems to enjoy it. Can you elaborate on the thermostat problem? Was it a simple matter of replacement or something else? You never know, someone else might be having the same problem!  :D
It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is then to persist in delusion, however satisfying or reassuring.  Carl Sagan

Rick G