Introduction

Started by Dibble, May 30, 2008, 01:41:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dibble

Hello all,

I am new to the Vision community, and up to this point I have not officially introduced myself. "Dibble" is a really bad pronunciation of my last name, that I had to put up with through all of my school attendance days. Several friends of mine found it sort of catchy, so it has stuck. I am located North of Barrie Ontario.

Anyhow, my ride is a Silver 82 with a "Pichler" fairing. I got it for the cost of a tank of gas to go pick it up 2 hours from where I live. The faring is in pretty rough shape, so it immediately came off. Here is a list of what I have done so far:

1) Removed fairing and bracketry
2) Gas Tank repair - POR-15
3) Cleaned electrical connections
4) Plugs/Caps/Wires
5) Vacuum Lines
6) Carbs cleaned (then cleaned again and rebuilt)
7) New MAC exhaust
8) New BT45 Tires
9) Front Caliper rebuild
10) Front pads and rear shoes
11) Changed all fluids
12) Carb Sync
13) Stator plug elimination
14) New Battery
15) Large amounts of Semi-Gloss Black paint

I likely forgot something, it sure feels like I have done more than that!! There sure is no such thing as a "FREE" Vision. This site has saved me a bunch of time, it's great to have so much information at your fingertips. "Tiger" tracked me down through a "wanted" ad that I had placed in a local buy and sell, and welcomed me to the family. I am looking forward to this years OnROV fall ride, since I was not ready for the spring run.

The bike currently runs, after chasing a major "MAC-fire" problem (my neighbors are not impressed) that ended up being the black ground wire to the front coil. Special thanks to "Tiger" and "Cdnlouie" for some "offline" support. I hope to get the bike in for a safety inspection this weekend, then on the road next week.