News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

New Vision owner Seasoned rider

Started by Vandal171, January 05, 2013, 12:03:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Vandal171

Hello to all from the frozen flats of Western NY!  I have recently acquired a fair 1982 model with 16,000 miles that is in need of some love. Some of you probably saw it sell on Ebay for $152.50. A quick bit about me, I have been riding and wrenching on bikes for about 25 years now. I enjoy breathing life back into forgotten bikes. This is my first Vision and I have learned that every bike has personality traits that must be attended to. From a quick browse of the site I see these old Yammy's are no exception. A quick thought to ponder here, on a few other sites I have visited, the members have gathered up the most informational threads and placed them in one pinned thread in the tech forum. This saves every new guy asking the same questions over and over. Anyway, on to my fine gem. I haven't got to far into it yet but right off the bat I know it needs the carbs re-built and new control cables, PO put incorrect clutch cable on and throttle cable is broken. I haven't cranked it over yet, plan on doing that this weekend. I plan on pulling the covers off to check the starter clutch and test/inspect the stator. Is there anything else I should attend to while I'm in there? I tend to be very thorough and hate to take things apart twice so the more info I can get before hand the better. BTW, the dealer I got it from took it on trade and didn't do a thing to it and gave me very little info on the condition of it so everything is a mystery right now. Thanks in advance and hope to hear from you guys soon.
Bikes are my life.
Current stable:
1983 GL1100 Goldwing
1983 GPZ 1100 Dragbike
1982 Vision
1979 CB750 10th Anniversary
1979 CX500 Custom Cafe bike
1975 CB500T Hardtail Chopper

QBS