News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

New Vision Rider - First Motorcycle Project

Started by 2002_wrx, August 10, 2010, 02:23:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2002_wrx

Hey all,
    Just wanted to introduce myself as I'm new to the forum.  My name's Alan, I'm a 21 yr old student and just bought an 82 Vision as my first motorcycle.  I bought it as a bit of a project to fix up...here's the progress I've made on it:

-Fixed all electronics/small issues (everything works now!)
    -Made new air filter
    -Removed old Kreem coating from tank (nightmare)
    -Recoated tank with POR-15 sealer...looks like new
    -Full professional grade paint job - did it myself!  Color is Dark Gray Metallic from a 2003 Volkswagen.

Just got the bike all reassembled and took a 50 mile ride last night  :)

Thanks for the pointers/input guys..

Here's some pics:

As I bought it:

Rikugun

Hey Alan, nice job! I like the color and it looks very professional! Welcome to the site and enjoy your Vision.

BTW, on the last pic, is that 2 fuel filters I see?
It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is then to persist in delusion, however satisfying or reassuring.  Carl Sagan

Lucky

1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

2002_wrx

Quote from: Rikugun on August 10, 2010, 03:04:15 PM
Hey Alan, nice job! I like the color and it looks very professional! Welcome to the site and enjoy your Vision.

BTW, on the last pic, is that 2 fuel filters I see?

Thanks guys!  Yes, it might have been a bit overkill, but I ran 2 filters on the first ride to catch anything that could have possibly been loose from cleaning out the tank and petcock.  Looked perfectly clean so I took the cloth one off this morning.

Tiger