vacuum line for YICS?

Started by Brian Moffet, September 21, 2011, 01:58:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Moffet

I forget, what size?  My line to the front cylinder is going to need replacing soon (I can see it splitting.)

Thanks,
Brian

Re-Vision

Internal diameter needs to be 8mm or 5/16 inches. Outer dia. is 11mm.     BDC

YellowJacket!

I'm using Heavy Duty 1/4" (6.5mm ID) fuel injection line and it seems to be holding up and working quite well.  Its a bit of a tight fit so I guess Re-Vision is correct on the size that should be used.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Re-Vision

I just measured the YICS outer diameter at 8mm, hose inner diameter needs to be less than 8mm for a snug fit.    BDC

Brian Moffet

Thanks.  Because it's a vacuum line, it shouldn't have too much of a problem blowing off that pressure lines have.  I have 1/4 inch fuel line and that really feels too tight.  I think I'm running 8mm vacuum line on one of the lines, and have the stock (prone to splitting) line on the other.  I'll replace both while I'm at it.

Brian

YellowJacket!

I thought the YICS was pressurized not a vacuum.   ???  ???

David

Lucky

1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

Brian Moffet

Yes, it's a pulsed vacuum. Running on the original line, you can watch the line collapse and the go back to "normal" in time with the engine at idle. It's too difficult to see at anything higher than idle.  It is definitely not pressurized.  If I recall, it's tapped into the intake portion of the head above the valves. When the valve opens and the piston draws in the mixture, it creates a vacuum in the line/YICS.  When the valve closes, that line and the YICS then fills up with fuel-air mixture.

Because it is in the intake system, there is no time that it is above atmospheric pressure.

Brian

Re-Vision

Curiosity made me go and look at a head. You described it well, Brian.     BDC

supervision