News:

We rely on our supporters to help keep us running. Thank You!

Main Menu

New owner of an old object of lust

Started by skucera, August 12, 2014, 04:07:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skucera

I've been wanting to buy a Yamaha Vision since I first read about them in motorcycle magazines in 1981, when I was a poor college student.  The best I could afford on my budget was an old Moto Guzzi formerly owned by the California Highway Patrol that was worn out with 55,000 miles.  As the recession worsened, I watched the prices of unsold Visions drop and drop, but even in 1984 when the price of an unsold 1982 Vision dropped to about $1500 I still couldn't afford one.  I tried.  I thought seriously about using all the money I saved up from my summer job to buy one, but I just couldn't figure out how I would pay for the upcoming year of college.

So, fast forward 30 years and a guy I work with who owned an '82 Vision buys a new Sportster.  I asked him what he did with his old Vision, and he told me that it was sitting at home, unridden.  We made a deal, and I brought it home about a week and a half ago.  I also got lots of spare parts in the bargain, and two repair manuals.

What a sweet riding motorcycle!

The only things wrong with it right now are a worn out rear tire, and slight leaks from the coolant tube ends.  I bought O-rings at Home Depot last night, and I'll fix that tonight.  One of the spares is a rear wheel with a Metzler tire mounted, so I've got to get that mounted to my bike's rear wheel.  Oh, I also have to repair a couple of small dents in the tank, but I also got a red and white tank with the bike (might have been a Marlboro model '83?).

Thank you all for letting my join you here on this forum.

Scott

QBS