News:

Main Menu

Old bike problems

Started by Rick G, August 14, 2002, 10:21:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rick G

Some Visionaries seem to be over whelmed by the problems which CAN occur in a old bike, which may not have recieved the best of care. I worked as a bike wrench from 1962 to 1980 and recently went back to it. I'm working in an independant shop  and we get all the old stuff that no one else will touch.  Most of the bikes are the same ones I worked on just befor quiting,  only now  there 22 year old junkers!  Some seem to feel that the Vision has more than its share of failures,  but compared to all the bikes that come in to the shop its a marvel of reliability! Carb problems on 4 cylinder machines are a nightmare compared to our twin. Rusty tanks  occur on most any neglected old bike  and electrical problems  are NOT limited to the V. (we had a 1996 H-D big twin in that needed a new stator, its third!)  When I first bought my V every body I talked to , including mechanics, told me what a terrable piece of s**t  they were. so I figured, fix it up and then sell it. Howeve,r I grew to like it  and discovered that  these nay sayers  were full of s**t . In 15,000 miles I've had to change a reg/rect  change the front bkake pads once, the rear shoes twice  used 4 spark plugs and rebuilt the starter clutch and the water pump. Now, I dont feel this is outragous on a twenty year old bike, that had been neglected (you should have met the neanderthal  I bought it from)  This bike has never failed to get me home ,I ride on isolated mountain roads with little traffic, so it gets me home or I walk!  
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

Dave T.