News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Need help figuring out if conversion was done

Started by hfarley, March 13, 2005, 06:05:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hfarley

Ok this is going to sound kind of stupid  :P, but I have read the archives on this and I have looked at Yamaha's website. But I guess I am being a dumb blonde here. Can you guys tell me a really simple way to tell if the air box/filter conversion has been done on my bike?  ???Like some really simple way to look at it and instantly know that it was done or not? I want to get another air filter for the bike while I have the tank off and I want to make sure it is the right one. I found a link on one of the archives http://robmay.com/airfilter.htm and the one I have looks like the filter on the right in the pictures. Does that tell me that it was done or not or do I have to look at a different part of the whole assembly? I know some of you are probably rolling your eyes at this but I am still learning how things should look and what goes where. Thanks you guys and gals!
-Heather aka the blonde ;D
Sometimes being insane in an insane world IS being sane

I don't suffer from insanity....I enjoy every minute of it!

Lucky

if the airbox has a vacume hose comming out the front, going to the carbs then the update has been done.  most Visions were done (the update was free) few weren't done.
--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

MotorPlow

This is an unmodified air box:

The modified air box can be viewed here:
http://parts.yamaha-motor.com/partimage.aspx?c=5,961,996&i=50795,2

Notice parts numbered 1,2,3,15 & 21 on the Modified air box, that's the vacuum hose that is not on the Unmodified air box.  I believe you can used the air filter from the modified air box in an unmodified air box, but not vise versa.

hfarley