Can someone walk me through patching a leaky tank?

Started by vavision, March 15, 2006, 05:14:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vavision

The new bike seems close to perfect and I want to ride it again without getting gas on the jeans.

It leaks from the back left side and the front left side. The front leak was coming out at about a drop a minute, the back leak at a couple drops a second. The inside of the tank looks pored. I'm guessing someone did a bad job (I didn't say poor ;)) using hte por kit to fix the leak. Your guess is as good as mine.

What should I do? Do I use JB Weld, do I use something else? Do I sand first, do I sand later. I'd appreciate any and everything to a complete newb at tank leak fixing.
It's not about living, it's about living well. Enjoy each moment.

YellowJacket!

I'm no pro at fixing leaky tanks but I did sleep at a Holiday in last night....couldn't resist.  Seriously though, I had a few small leaks on my tank when I got it and to fix them, I sanded them down clean then used JB Weld.
Later, I had the large dents in my tank professionally fixed and through the whole process the JB Weld job I did held up.  I did notice a small new leak at the back of the tank the other day so I'm going to fix it this week before I start painting the bike.  I'm sure that Lucky and the rest will respond with more tried and true (and more permanent) solutions.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

vavision

Since it's Pored, but there are leaks... Do you think there's rust building under the POR? Is there anyway to get it off to start over? It seems like now would be the good time since I'll have the tank off to sand, fix and paint.

MotorPlow

vavision

Quote from: MotorPlow on March 15, 2006, 06:52:14 PM
What about the tank from your other Vision?

That would work temporarily, but if I fix the leak then I have two Visions to ride! One for me, one for the girlfriend and what a pretty picture that will make.

Tiger