Shifting Between 1st & 2nd

Started by Proteus, August 10, 2006, 03:11:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Proteus

I've been riding the V for about 5 years and I've always had a problem getting a clean shift between 1st and 2nd. About 2/3 of the time I get it but all too often I get neutral instead of second. About three years ago I adjusted the clutch to specs in the Haynes manual and the problem didn't get worse, nor did it improve. Am I just a numbnut or is there a trick to shifting between these gears that I haven't mastered? Or, is there an adjustment I should be tweaking to shorten the bridge between the two gears?

Walt_M.

If there is nothing wrong with the transmission there is no trick to the 1-2 upshift. You say this has been a problem for 5 yrs? Surely you've done several oil changes in that time. Are you using the recommended weight oil? Some of the members say their bikes shift smoother using synthetic oil but mine does fine on Yamalube 4. How much 'play' is in your shift linkage? I don't have the manual in front of me but there shouldn't be over 1/4 inch of play and the shifter should be adjusted at a comfortable level even with or only slightly above the foot peg.
If none of this helps, you may have a worn or bent shift fork. This would not be good as you would have to split the cases to replace it. Good luck.
Whale oil beef hooked!

Proteus

I always use Yamalube 4. There is no trouble shifting into and out of any of the other gears. The free-play is within specs as well as the shifter hight.

Night Vision

I was having a similar situation. If I wasn't paying close attention and got a little sloppy or lazy shifting from 1st. to 2nd. sometimes I'd miss. Also, my shifting didn't "snick" as well as my brothers bike did.