News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Traffic Light Trigger - Do They Really Work?

Started by YellowJacket!, October 15, 2006, 09:59:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowJacket!

I have two left turn traffic lights to go through at major intersections.  The lights have the burried trigger sensors in the road and will only give the left turn signal if they "sense" a car on them.  Apparently my bulky V is still not big enough to trigger them.
Tennessee does have a law that lets a motorcycle make a left turn if the light does not change for two cycles of traffic, but these are big intersections and running the light would be risky especially if my V stumbles in the middle of it.
So, my question is: Do those things you strap on the bottom of your bike to make the sensors "see" your bike really work?  Any recomendations for a particular one?

Thanks,

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Lucky

Dave the light at Frenchtown Rd & Post rd (that weird left that heads over the town line towards Hilltop) i'd sit at the light forever, pull way up & hope another car comes along. 

i tie wrapped a very large magnet to the round hole at the front of the engine (i had crashbars on the bike at the time) that did the trick.  those 'triggers" are just electromagnets. sometimes hitting the starter will help too. because of the starter clutch, it won't contact the flywheel.

--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

Robin Hood

Is this a US thing then because here in the UK a pedal cycle will trigger traffic lights. At night lights lights often go to red until a vehicle triggers them.

Lucky