News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

calling all computer gurus

Started by ps2/bikevision, February 23, 2007, 04:10:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ps2/bikevision

here is what i got. i got a 2wire wireless modem that came with sbc phone service. i now have verizon phone service. i hooked up my wireless modem so that i could have the web in my room. i installed the modem in the living room and my wireless router to my computer in my room. i got it all to work but one little hitch. ever couple hours i got to the modem monitor and refresh the broadband link. once i do this all works fine.

i have called verizon and they wont help cause i didnt buy the modem from them. any one know how to fix this or am i just going to have to live with it.

Walt_M.

Does this happen while you are on line or after a period of inactivity? Even a DSL will occasionlly time out and wireless connection to a DSL will probably do the same. Don't know about cable. I am still learning here but the DSL that I've used have a Cat5 cable with 6 wires.
Whale oil beef hooked!

YellowJacket!

Do you have alink to the site that makes the modem?  Brand? MOdel?  Is your internet service broadband (High Speed), Cable? DSL?

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Mutt

PS2- I'm assuming you mean two wire as in conductors coming from your wall jack to the modem. You have Verizon DSL?

How far apart is your modem from your wireless router? As far as distance, if you have a longer cable to run between your jack and the modem, place the modem closer to your router and see if it disconnects after a while. Also make sure the modem is compatable with your wireless router. The modem or the router's website may list compatability.