News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Avon Super Venoms

Started by Lucky, February 07, 2007, 05:53:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

h2olawyer

Steamboat, being a ski & summer resort town, has two busy seasons.  At the time I was a tire tech during the summer, I ran ski lifts in the winter.  I spent three summers at the tire store.  The final year, I drove the large service truck & worked mostly with heavy equipment tires (tractors, loaders, scrapers & smaller mining haul trucks).  Some of the tractor & loader tires were calcium filled.  Those were a real pain to deal with.

The heavy equipment tires are in many ways easier than car tires.  Most of the work is done with hydraulics.  The only tough part was swinging the 16 lb. sledge baseball style to push the outer ring back so the lock ring could be removed.  Glad it only took 4 to 8 hits to get the job done.  My fast time on a scraper tire - from arrival to mid-inflation was 45 minutes.  The guy who trained me could do one in a half hour.  Actual tire removal & installation was done with the boom & a sling.

The heat finally made me decide to give up physically demanding work in the summer & I resumed formal education.

The Harbor Freight tire machine is really just a frame to hold the rim and make it a little easier to lever the tire off.  It comes with a large bar to remove the tire.  It also operates the bead breaker.  The bar well with car tires but not with motorcycles - except with the bead breaker.  A couple pieces of cut up plastic milk jugs serve as rim protectors & I have been using some various construction levers as tire spoons.  They're rounded on the edges so they don't cut the tires but some real spoons would make it easier.

H2O