News:

We would like to thank our supporting members for their generosity.

Main Menu

Memorial Day. Who has served in the military?

Started by dj, May 29, 2007, 05:14:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dj

Well, since it was memorial day yester day I got to wondering about how many members are either retired military or currently in the military.  I know of a few others that are/have been in the military.  I think it woud be interesting for all of us military members past and present to give a brief summary of what branch you were in and where you served.  Never know, maybe we have some members that served in the same areas at the same time.

I'll start off.  I am a ground radio maintenance tech in the Maine Air National Guard.  I have only been in for 5+ years, but it has been a great time for me.  I have learned a hell of a lot about who I am as a person, and before any of you guys ask yes Air Force Basic training is very easy and no we don't have time out cards.  ;D

Since joining my unit I have had the chance to go to Turkey (2 times), England (2 times), Delaware (once), Georgia (once), Biloxi Mississippi (twice, both times for training schools.  once for 10.5 months and the second for 2 weeks).  Other then that I have stayed state side working at my shop on full time orders.  I have also had a chance to meet lots of great people from all over the country, both during schools and during operations both stateside and overseas.

I have seen many great sites that I never would have seen had I not joined the military.  For anybody who has never been to Turkey it is a beautiful country filled with lots of early christian church history.  I got to visit places from the bible and see some of the earliest churches in that area (most carved right into the rock of the mountain sides).
2008 Honda Rebel (Black)

h2olawyer

Cool idea for a thread.