News:

Ridersofvision.net  welcomes you !

Main Menu

Tanks

Started by mastergunny, November 12, 2007, 09:05:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mastergunny

From all I have been reading about tanks, it sounds like it would be great if we could find someone to fabricate new ones! This whole tank liner thing is new to me. Did all tanks have this coating from the factory when new?

I don't have my pair of visions yet, should get them in abount a week. I have no idea what to expect in the way of tank problems. If I ever got the tank clean on the inside, why in the world would I want to recoat with some more gunk?

Tanno

They did not come lined with anything from the factory.
Industrial Technician by trade -- Curiosity by nature, tinkerer by choice.
"Handle every situation like a dog would. If you can't eat it or screw it; Piss on it and walk away!" -- Unknown

Tiffanator

I'm sure that my posts are the ones that are scaring you about the Vision tanks. 
Here's a brief (I hope) story on my tank. It had a Kreem liner in it, Kreem is known to flake off if additives are used in the fuel. Mine had indeed begun to flake off. There were also dozens of tiny pin holes in the tank that had to be drilled out and patched. I didn't want to patch them until I had cleaned away the Kreem and rust from the inside so I could get a good bond. Thats where the clay fiasco came into play. I finally got a good bit of Kreem out and dunked the tank in muriatic acid and got the rust off, then inspected only to find Kreem remaining. I patched it with JB and put more acetone in, and the acetone dissolved the JB over 7 days. I cleaned the JB off and used epoxy putty, then did the POR process and the tank is now lined and curing in my living room.