Commuting on the vision again...

Started by Brian Moffet, March 03, 2008, 12:32:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Moffet

It costs 50.00 every other week to fill up my tank on my car, so I'm commuting to work on my Vision again. A bit over 7 miles each way, through San Francisco city traffic. 

Nice ride though :-)

Brian

Coil Coyle

If I was doing that commute, I'd take 25th up to Lincoln and go that way. But I don't live there...
:'(
Coil

Brian Moffet

Brian Moffet

And the joys.  Went about the same distance on the Vision (144 miles) on a tank of gas as I do in the RX-7.

However, it only took 3.17 gallons to fill the Vision, it takes 12 in the RX-7.  City driving is terrible...

Brian (46.3 mpg for those counting.  Includes driving the vision from Santa Cruz to San Francisco)

YellowJacket!

Gas here hit abobe 3.15 today.  Looks like I'll be spending more tim on the V and less in the Accordion.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

Brian Moffet

3.75 is what I paid yesterday...  San Fran has some of the highest gas costs in the nation...

Which is why I'm riding the vision...

Brian

Rick G

David , just perhaps , gas prices  will convince your wife  of the validity of owning the vespa.
When I bought the XL 350 , this was the tack I used . While my Vision was down,  I spent over 300.00 dollars in gas to get to work . So I needed a more economical bike  for around town and  would use the V on longer rides. As it turns out the XL gets about 30 mpg , unless I'm bombing around the desert or trails in the mountains , then it can go as low as 10 mpg ,if I'm in low gear country.
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

Tiger