bike idles but dosent rev up

Started by 123red82, April 09, 2008, 01:50:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

123red82

hey i am new to motorcycles i have an 83 vision that i just bought it has been sitting a while, the carbs were cleaned a year ago but never driven since from what i am told i cleaned out the tank put a new fuel line on with a filter cranked it over till it fired it starts fine and even idles on its own for around 5 minutes but dies eventualy when you open the throttle it sometimes revs up but only to a certian point and bogs down and other times it just dies any help would be greatly appreciated thanks

Rick G

If the carbs had gas in them , more than likely  they will need to be dipped. If you need tutoring in this procedure, contact Lucky , on this forum and get one of his Cd's. between that and  our help , you will get through it!
Rick G
Go soothingly on the grease mud, as there in lurks the skid demon
'82.5 Yamaha XZ550 RJ  Vision,
'90 Suzuki VX800, 1990 Suzuki DR350.
'74  XL350   Honda , 77 XL350 Honda, 78 XL350 Honda, '82 XT 200 Yamaha, '67 Yamaha YG1TK, 80cc trail bike

Lucky

it sounds like eiter a crb cleaning or fuel starvation (blockage or synq adjustment is way off)
--Lucky
1982/3 XZ550 Touring Vison, Gold on Black

Tiger

:) Hello and welcome to the ROV, the only place a Vision should bring its new keeper!!!

I had exactly the same problem with "The Mistress" when I first got her...The carb's may still need cleaning, however, it may well work using a can of Berrymans carb cleaner, added into the gas tank, from your friendly Walmart for about $3.00 'ish...Worth a try ;)

or/and...it could be the carb's need sync'd.

8).......TIGER....... 8)
Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming HOOOOYA lets go again baby !!!!!!

'82 Vision, Pearl Orange finish, lots of up-grades!!!