News:

Main Menu

new brake fluid

Started by Kevin, March 17, 2012, 08:09:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin

Rikugun

I have no experience with it but I'm curious, unless you plan on going racing and need the very high boiling points, why spend that much? 

I noticed it claims "Florida State Law Prohibts the use of BLUE brake fluid in vehicles registered for street use". I'm guessing it also causes cancer in california....  :o

Here's an intersting article on 3, 4 and 5 chemistry, compatibility, etc., etc.
http://jimsgarage.wordpress.com/2007/01/09/dot-3-dot-4-and-dot-5/
It is far better to grasp the universe as it really is then to persist in delusion, however satisfying or reassuring.  Carl Sagan

Brian Moffet

Quote from: Rikugun on March 17, 2012, 10:33:13 AM
I noticed it claims "Florida State Law Prohibts the use of BLUE brake fluid in vehicles registered for street use". I'm guessing it also causes cancer in california....  :o

If it causes cancer in California, it'll cause cancer everywhere else too  ;)

Some states require particular colors for fluids used in lots of different things, the color being there to make sure that people don't mix up the different fluids.  Even the Federal Government has color coding: If you take a look at aviation fuel, 100LL is a blue color, and 82 is red.  I forget what jet fuel is because I don't use it, but the idea is that the color will protect people from accidentally mixing fluids. It could very well be that the blue color might get confused with aviation fuel?  I dunno, I have never really understood Florida politics...

Rikugun

Brian it was a joke. Haven't you ever noticed warnings (prop 65 requirement) on certain products that read "....known to cause cancer in the state of California.....?  As if it wouldn't cause cancer elsewhere is the joke. Get it?

Wasn't it you who was making recomendations on how to write a joke in another thread? Perhaps this is not a good vocation for you.....  :D  :D