Main Menu

PC Advice, again

Started by Coil Coyle, March 05, 2009, 03:30:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Coil Coyle

Hey Guys,

Somewhere along this year I picked up a program called "RegCure" that automatically "Scans" my computer. It finds a whole list of errors of which it will "Fix" two with my version and all of them with the "Registered" version which costs $20+/- bucks to register.

My question; do I need to get my 860 currently listed "Errors" fixed? Or should I uninstall "RegCure"

???
Coil

YellowJacket!

NO. If you are running Vista you will probably end up with more problems.  I avoid two programs like the plague: Anything with Norton on it and any type of registry cleaner.  Both casue more problems than they are worth.
I spend a lot of time on several computer oriented websites and this seems to be a common question/problem.

David

Living the dream - I am now a Physician Assistant!!   :-)

YellowJacket!

I did a google on regcure and the first thing that was apparent is that regcure is "seeding" the search engines with lots of great things to say about itself - something that bothers me.  I had to dig through several pages of "reviews" before I could find a forum link where people were actually discussing it.  A quick review of a thread and lots of people are recommending cccleaner to get rid of it so that makes me think its crapware.

David

The Prophet of Doom

I second YJ
The reason the registry needs fixing is that when it gets to files that are no longer there, it can sit there retrying for quite a while before it gives up and moves on.  A couple of hindred of these and startup can be a mojor mission.    For some reason this comparatively simple task is done so badly by these registry cleaners that there is a 50:50 chance your machine will not run again without reloading wndows.  Loosing all your files in the process.